Wednesday, June 02, 2010

Women Lax wins title; Early All-ACC

The women’s lacrosse team defeated Northwestern on Sunday to win the 10th National Championship in the program’s history. It was the first championship for the Terps since 2001 which ended seven straight years of Maryland dominance. Northwestern had won five titles in a row before falling to the lady Terps in a seesaw affair that ended 13-11. It was the first title for head coach Cathy Reese in her fourth season at Maryland. Reese is no stranger to championships having played at Maryland during the 7 straight titles under Cindy Timchal.

Lead by senior Caitlyn McFadden, who was awarded Tournament MVP, the Terps stormed back after going down 6-0 to start the match. Sarah Mollison, Karri Johnson and Katie Schwarzmann all scored three goals each and will return next season. It looks like coach Reese has the Terps poised for another run of sustained greatness.


Phill Steele is out with his preseason All-ACC picks. No real surprises for Maryland with the exception of Antwine Perez getting the nod as 2nd team SS. On offense WR Torrey Smith and RB Da’Rel Scott were both given 2nd team honors. Smith was also tagged as 1st team kick returner. It illustrates the question marks on offense for Maryland this coming season that no other players were picked on the four teams.

Defense is another story. In addition to Perez Maryland has three linebackers Alex Wujciak (1st team), Demetrius Hartsfield (3rd) and Adrian Moten (3rd). The linebacking corps is certainly the best position group on the team with quality backups like Ben Pooler and Darin Drakeford in addition to the impressive starters. Safety Kenny Tate also made Steele’s 3rd team All-ACC. The defensive unit certainly has talent and it will be up to second year defensive coordinator Don Brown to get this group playing up to their talent. I expect the defense to be greatly improved this season.

No comments: